Summer flowers

 

I got this cockscomb from a Ukrainian baker in Berea (post about that here) who brought it with her to the U.S. when she came. It turned out to be quite easy to grow, and it has come up thickly in all three places I’ve planted it.

A few other things from this week:

 

The okra flowers seem to be only visited by wasps, so I’m thankful I’ve been letting them hang around every year because I’m getting a ton of okra. We’ve had a variety of bees on our other flowers, though, as you can see in the salvia picture. (I think that’s salvia. I planted that area in a frenzy of blue flowers.) The bottom right picture is a sesame plant, which I was very excited to test out. Jefferson grew sesame in hopes of finding a homegrown source of oil, but it’s actually quite a striking ornamental. Maybe I’ll try to harvest from it too, and see if I get enough to put on a meal.

Leave a Reply

