French toast apples

I love French toast. I’d rather eat it than most breakfast foods. Than most dessert foods, too, for that matter. Even though bread gives me a belly ache most of the time, I’d have a hard time walking away from French toast, so making a big stack of it at home every time I crave that buttery maple goodness is probably a bad idea.

So I make an apple and some walnuts into buttery maple goodness.

2015/01/img_5478.jpg

 

To make this, you use an apple and a small handful of walnuts per person. Peel and slice the apples and heat 1-2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet on medium high. Add a few tablespoons of maple syrup and about a teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla. Stir together, add the apples and walnuts, and cook, stirring, until they just start to soften and brown. Be careful not to let the nuts burn.

2015/01/img_5477.jpg

Naturally, it’s great with yogurt on top. Which, I guess French toast probably is too.

 

Leave a Reply

