My old great pumpkin from last year is at the local garden store!

They just call it an old-fashioned pumpkin around here, and the garden store is sourcing them from an older local couple that grows it every year and saves seed. From my limited research, I believe it’s a locally adapted cheese pumpkin. It did so well for me last year, and the flavor is so similar to a butternut squash, that I plan to grow a bunch of these next year and save seed. Which means I won’t be doing butternuts, unfortunately, because I think they’re both cucurbits moscata, so they would likely cross. This picture is of some of the pumpkins I grew last year off of one plant, for reference.

 

b1992-img_2625

Leave a Reply

