green smoothie with honeydew and green tea

Are you a smoothie person? I have to admit, for a long time I eyed them with skepticism. Homogenous brightly colored liquid food? Weird. However, in an effort to use up an enormous kale crop early this summer and get us actually eating more produce during the busy growing time, I pulled out an old Hamilton Beach blender and started experimenting.

Not only did we knock out the kale, we also used up all of our frozen blackberries and blueberries before the summer ended, officially conquering my aversion to smoothies. They use up produce so nicely, can be made in a million variations, leave me full without having to cook a meal, and give me more sinister Mom opportunities to sneak greens into everyone’s food.

This honeydew green tea smoothie is probably our favorite. When we had some honeydew get a little overripe this summer I cut it up and froze it. I brew a cup of jasmine green tea and let it cool, then combine the frozen honeydew, 1/2-1 banana, a big handful of greens (chard, spinach, beet greens, collards, etc.) and a little bit of the tea to the blender. Every measurement varies depending on how sweet you need it to be (banana and honeydew are plenty of sweetener as long as you don’t do too many handfuls of greens, but Amaranthaceae like chard, spinach, and beet greens are milder so I can get away with adding more.) It’s so refreshing and sweet that even the harder to convince family members (everyone but me, really) eagerly drink it down.

Leave a Reply

