The Ups and Downs of Concord Grapes

They are beautiful viewed from a distance in the evening, but up close, the billion perfect clusters of unripe Concord grapes we had going are doing mysterious and terrible things. Also, an army of Japanese beetles has arrived to drive me crazy for the rest of the summer because I have no experience with them. I don’t know if the above damage is because of them or because of another issue.
I found this Identification Guide to the Major Diseases of Grapes pdf, but I don’t feel confident about any of their pictures compared with mine. A neighbor said the previous owner used to add lime to the soil when they were growing and it would straighten the grapes out, so I’m researching pH issues as well.
Leave a Reply

