strawberry rhubarb jam (and other reasons to buy tons of strawberries in May)

I spent the majority of May focusing on strawberries. I dehydrated pint after pint of beautiful red gems purchased from one of the many Thompson farms in this area. I also made conserve, strawberry lemonade, popsicles, and roasted strawberries to eat along with the piles of raw ones.

By far the best use was this strawberry rhubarb jam guest post by Marisa McClellan, author of one of my favorite food blogs, Food In Jars. I can’t say enough good things about this jam. It’s our new favorite. I add a tablespoon of rosewater to the jam as it cooks, but other than that I follow it exactly, because it’s pretty much perfect.

The finished product doesn’t have a noticeable rosewater taste, it just enhances the flavor of the fruit. You could probably just add an extra tablespoon to get a more pronounced flavor.
Leave a Reply

